DUI Laws in Arizona

Arizona law requires anyone found guilty of a first offense DUI to serve a mandatory jail sentence.

In many justice courts, judges employ a sliding scale for sentencing, meaning that the more serious your case, the better chance of a longer jail term.

More Than 20,000 Cases Handled – Schedule Your Appointment Now

The fines for an Arizona DUI can be severe and the law requires an ignition interlock device, as well as, other restrictions on your driving privileges ( ARS 28-1381A1, 28-1381A2, 28-1381A3, 28-1382A). Fines can be negotiated with the court but they’re based on the charge you’re convicted of, which makes having an experienced Arizona DUI lawyer on your side that much more important.

DUI/DWI in Arizona
First Offense DUI Conviction in Arizona

  • 24 Hour minimum jail sentence with a maximum of up to six months in jail
  • A fine up to $2,500 plus an 84% surcharge
  • The Court will order substance abuse counseling
  • 90 day suspension / restriction of Your Driving Privileges
  • Community Service
  • Ignition Interlock Device

Second Offense DUI Conviction in Arizona

  • 30 day minimum jail sentence with a maximum of up to six months in jail
  • Drivers license Revocation
  • A fine up to $2,500 plus an 84% surcharge
  • The Court will order substance abuse counseling
  • Community Service
  • Ignition Interlock Device

Arizona Extreme DUI
First Offense Extreme DUI Conviction in Arizona

  • 30 day minimum jail sentence with a maximum of up to six months in jail
  • 90 day suspension / restriction of Your Driving Privileges
  • A fine up to $2,500 plus an 84% surcharge
  • A $250 assessment to the Driving Under the Influence Abatement Fund
  • The Court will order substance abuse counseling
  • Community Service
  • Ignition Interlock Device

Second Offense Extreme DUI Conviction in Arizona

  • 120 day minimum jail sentence with a maximum of up to six months in jail
  • Drivers license Revocation
  • A fine up to $2,500 plus an 84% surcharge
  • $250 assessment to the Driving Under the Influence Abatement Fund
  • The Court will order substance abuse counseling
  • Community Service
  • Ignition Interlock Device

Arizona Super Extreme DUI
First Offense Super Extreme DUI Conviction in Arizona

  • 45 day minimum jail sentence with a maximum of up to six months in jail
  • Drivers License Suspension or Revocation
  • A fine up to $2,500 plus an 84% surcharge
  • 18 months of mandatory ignition interlock devise
  • Community service
  • Court may require you to wear an alcohol monitoring device

Second Offense Super Extreme DUI Conviction in Arizona

  • Mandatory six months in jail
  • Drivers License Revocation
  • A fine up to $2,500 plus an 84% surcharge
  • 24 months of mandatory ignition interlock devise
  • Community service
  • Court may require you to wear an alcohol monitoring device

More Than 20,000 Cases Handled – Schedule Your Appointment Now

Arizona Aggravated DUI
Aggravated DUI is a serious class 4 felony offense in the State of Arizona. It means a mandatory four months in an Arizona Department of Corrections prison. You cannot receive a work furlough and you are usually housed in a remote location in Arizona, making visits difficult. In addition, family and friends usually can’t visit because the application process takes up to six months to process.

You may be charged with Aggravated DUI / DWI if any of the following conditions apply to you case.

  • Arrested for a DUI, DWI, Extreme DUI / DWI or Super Extreme DUI / DWI
  • Your Drivers license is suspended, restricted, revoked or canceled
  • Committing three (3) or more DUI’s within the past 72 months
  • Driving with a passenger under the age of 15 in the vehicle